Joyful Noise Recordings

Various Artists

Cause & Effect (vol. 1)

  • (limited to 2000 hand-numbered copies, pressed on black/clear split color vinyl)
  • (instant download, 320 kbps files)


Release Info

Catalog #: JNR113
Release Date: 05/28/2013

Track List

  1. Lou Barlow - Crack and Emerge *
  2. Dumb Numbers - Last Night I Had A Dream
  3. Thurston Moore - Gleo *
  4. Talk Normal - Shot This Time #
  5. David Yow - Thee Itch *
  6. Child Bite - Abysmal Splatter ^

* new, unreleased recordings
# from the album Sunshine
^ from the album Vision Crimes / Monomania


A somewhat conceptual release, "Cause & Effect" features three separate split 7" records, which each adhere to an overarching theme: an infuential, historically-significant solo musician on Side A, and the modern result of that musical influence on Side B.
The first of an annual volume, "Cause & Effect Vol. 1" features new unreleased recordings from Lou Barlow (Sebadoh, Dinosaur Jr., Folk Implosion), Thurston Moore (Sonic Youth), and David Yow (The Jesus Lizard), coupled with the current, fully-formed musical projects Dumb Numbers, Talk Normal, and Child Bite.  Each Side B track corresponds to the musical trajectory set in motion by the former. Cause (side a) and Effect (side b). 
All three 7"s are sold together in one super elaborate package, featuring new amazing artwork (and sketches of each band) by Shawn K Knight. This release is strictly limited to 2000 hand-numbered copies on split color vinyl.  The first 300 copies are pressed on silver/clear split color vinyl, and are available exclusively to VIP Members.  The remaining copies (#'s 301-2000) are pressed on black/clear split color vinyl.