Joyful Noise Recordings

Half Japanese


  • (limited to 1000 copies on bone-white vinyl w/ blue splatter)
  • (instant MP3 & WAV download)


Release Info

Catalog #: JNR151
Release Date: 09/02/2014

Track List

  1. In Its Pull
  2. Meant To Be That Way
  3. Brave Enough
  4. Do It Nation
  5. The Time Is Now
  6. Our Love
  7. Shining Star
  8. Each Other's Arms
  9. Overjoyed And Thankful
  10. We Are Sure
  11. As Good Can Be
  12. Tiger Eyes


One of the most influential bands in rock history, Half Japanese was founded in the bedroom of brothers Jad and David Fair in 1974. Ignoring musical conventions like chords, rhythms, melody, and song structure, the brothers pioneered DIY and Lo-Fi punk aesthetics simply by being themselves. Passionate, fearless, and relentlessly unique, they self-recorded and self-released by mailing out cassettes with handmade packaging, pressing their own vinyl, and brazenly marketing their music with bizarre magazine ads. This unbridled enthusiasm for the act of creating rock music led them to record dozens of amazing records (including the classic albums "1/2 Gentleman/Not Beasts" and "Charmed Life"), and to inevitably influence countless artists such as Sonic Youth, Neutral Milk Hotel, Daniel Johnston, Kurt Cobain, and many many more.

Their first album in 13 years, "Overjoyed", shows the band's aggressiveness as well as its friendly charisma. Produced by John Dieterich of Deerhoof, the 12 songs on "Overjoyed" are unlike anything in the bands catalog, each unapologetically positive and surprisingly accessible. "Overjoyed" contains a deep purity, exceptionally rare amongst "reunion albums". They neither attempt to recreate their old sound, nor are they aware of current musical trends and conventions. As a result they sidestep common pitfalls and create something new, interesting, and needed.


"The seemingly ageless ...[group]... haven't lost their knack for the fine art of the charm offensive."
- Pitchfork

"Fair's yelps of enthusiasm and lightning-strike guitar could wake the dead."

"Thoroughly the grooviest record they’ve released to date."
- Sputnik Music

"Noisepop nuggets like We Are Sure and Our Love come doused with an inescapable joie de vivre, certain to burrow its way into the hearts of true believers everywhere."
- The Skinny

"Inventive and as eccentric as always, Jad Fair has delivered yet another thoroughly brilliant album to add to his already impressive discography."
- Soundblab