Joyful Noise Recordings


Florist Fired

  • (black vinyl, first pressing of 500)


Release Info

Catalog #: JNR17
Release Date: 07/23/2007

Track List

  1. Toe Tapper
  2. Florist Fired
  3. Das Boot
  4. Eat Me Out
  5. Laughing With Minx
  6. I Saw Your Shadow
  7. Apples
  8. Luckcharm
  9. Missing Man  [MP3]
  10. Butterknife
  11. Pass It Along
  12. (I'm) Somewhere
  13. Not Nice
  14. Dropping Dimes
  15. Envelope
  16. Personality Candyspots


Five years is a long time. Five years is an excruciatingly long time for a band like Marmoset who reside in a city referred to, often derisively, as Naptown. Somehow this band has managed to bottle into one album all of the aspects and pathos that have, to date, made them the critically acclaimed band we all love. From the Swell Maps-inspired tumultuous clamor of their debut EP Hiddenforbidden, their addictive two-minute anthems on Today It's You, and the epic (for Marmoset at least) joyful dirges from Record in Red, Florist Fired has it all. 

Although principal songwriter Jorma Whittaker possesses an encyclopedic knowledge of Beatles-esque melodies and is more likely to cite his musical influences from John Lennon and friends, you get the unmistakable feeling that the band owes way more to a Keith Richards-led Stones swagger, but without the budget or access to premium pharmaceuticals. In contrast to the seemingly lecherous, self-loathing gems Whittaker pens, guitarist Dave Jablonski offers his detached ethereal odes like a man truly with his head in the clouds. 
CD available from Secretly Canadian.