Joyful Noise Recordings

Melk The G6-49

Melk The G6-49


Release Info

Catalog #: JNR01
Release Date: 07/08/2003

Track List

  1. How Foolish You Are
  2. Philistine Camp
  3. Deeds
  4. Apollyon
  5. Burst Into Song You Mountains
  6. Eight Number of New Beginnings
  7. Whoever Knows God  [MP3]


Melk's self-titled album was recorded in seven-hours--all songs are first-takes; no overdubbing was used, and the sound is RAW. All the traditional melodies and musical conventions have been stripped away leaving the bare bones of an epic hard-rock opus. It is relentless, it's loud, it's mathy, it's symphonic without being rigidly structured. I'm not sure that Melk could properly be considered a 'noise' band, because this is not shapeless distortion. Beneath the pirouetting curlicues of feedback and the convulsive pulse of the drums--there is a geometry and there is a message. If you could run an MRI on this album it would look like a brain in the grips of a religious seizure. In fact, it's been described as 'noise-prayer.' If you have any interest in finding out what that sounds like, check this album out.