Joyful Noise Recordings

of Montreal

False Priest

  • (red tape, limited to 500 hand-numbered copies)



Release Info

Catalog #: JNR65
Release Date: 09/13/2010

Track List

  1. I Feel Ya' Strutter
  2. Our Riotous Defects
  3. Coquet Coquette  [MP3]
  4. Godly Intersex
  5. Enemy Gene
  6. Hydra Fancies
  7. Like a Tourist
  8. Sex Karma
  9. Girl Named Hello
  10. Famine Affair
  11. Casualty of You
  12. Around the Way
  13. You Do Mutilate?


Teaming up with Grammy-nominated producer Jon Brion (Kanye West, Fiona Apple), of Montreal's mastermind Kevin Barnes traveled to famed Ocean Way Recording (Michael Jackson, Ray Charles, Frank Sinatra) to record False Priest, his self-professed masterpiece. As discussed in features in Rolling Stone, SPIN, Under the Radar and Pitchfork, False Priest is speaker-rattling heavy on the low end and features appearances by Janelle Monae and Solange Knowles (Beyonce's sister). The album also marks the return of organic instruments -- with live drums, strings and pianos replacing the midi sounds and sequencers of previous albums. 

The cassette edition of "False Priest" is limited to 500 hand-numbered copies. The artwork features a 10-panel booklet containing paintings and re-interpretations of paintings by David Barnes, Nina Barnes, and Kevin Barnes. The tape is pressed on a red cassette, matching the artwork. High-quality MP3s and FLAC audio are included.