Joyful Noise Recordings

Sleeping Bag

Sleeping Bag

  • (blue vinyl)
  • (black vinyl)
  • (yes, an actual sleeping bag - screen-printed and packaged with a download code)


Release Info

Catalog #: JNR80
Release Date: 08/08/2011

Track List

  1. Slime  [MP3]
  2. Sunroom
  3. Rental
  4. Acer
  5. Beside
  6. Desker
  7. Minus
  8. Ben
  9. Someone
  10. Scone Zone
  11. Another Time


Addictive melodies, deadpan delivery, jaunts of balls-out rocking, and minimalist tact characterize the power-pop gems on Sleeping Bag's s/t debut. Based in Bloomington Indiana, Sleeping Bag began as Dave Segedy's solo drum project (then called "Whoa Bro Awesome"). Segedy started flirting with melody and was joined by Lewis Rogers on guitar and David Woodruff on bass, two front-men singers in their own right. Dave Segedy remains the group's songwriter and primary vocalist. Yes, the drummer writes and sings all the songs, imagine that! 

Making good use of the palette of 90s indie rock, Sleeping Bag is sure to tickle the fancies of nerd-rock enthusiasts. Some hear Steven Malkmus in Segedy's delivery, while Segedy champions Polaris (yep, that band from Pete and Pete) as a primary influence. Nostalgia is at work here, but the songs can't be easily pigeonholed as throwback... They are simple, and simplicity is their asset. The songs really sink in around the third or fourth spin, and it's easy to get there.