Joyful Noise Recordings

Various Artists

Strata - A Young Person's Guide To Experimental Music


Release Info

Catalog #: JNR07
Release Date: 09/19/2005

Track List

  1. Philippians - New Inspiration
  2. Melk The G6-49 - The Instantaneous Mobilization of All the Resources in the BURROW and All the Forces of My Body and Soul
  3. Deneir - Charting Oblivion
  4. Soul-Junk - Genesis 15
  5. MakeShift:Shelter - Faux Hawk
  6. Lafcadio - Noticing Drastic Changes in Individuality and Enlightenment at Such a Young Age
  7. Bizzart - Nivek (outputmessage remix)
  8. Patagonian - Cage
  9. Create (!) - Durindana
  10. Electric iLL - Funaise
  11. Gratis - Means and Ends (instrumental version)
  12. Abner Trio - One
  13. Manners for Husbands - Lions
  14. I Heart Lung - Moving Through Colour (excerpt)
  15. Receptor Sight - Bagel & Green


An ambitious compilation of noise, electronic, hip-hop, free jazz, prog and experimental music, Strata is a primer for listeners of all ages. Featuring rare, new and unreleased tracks from both the Joyful Noise and Sounds Are Active rosters, Strata- A Young Person's Guide To Experimental Music is a sharp spike in a flat-lining, homogenized world of independent music. From psychotropic folk to mathy hardcore, from hyper-experimental hip-hop to symphonic noise. The musicians featured here are working at the bleeding edge of new possibilities; feeling for that utopian moment of truly revolutionary sound. This is music that has stripped itself of history and formula; sounds that describe and define the time in which they're played. This is noise that points toward the future. Produced by Chris Schlarb and Karl Hofstetter. Artwork by Tim McMullen