Joyful Noise Recordings

Victor Villarreal

Invisible Cinema

  • (european pressing, limited to 190 hand-numbered copies on clear vinyl)


Release Info

Catalog #: JNR84
Release Date: 01/24/2012

Track List

  1. Enters  [MP3]
  2. Darts In The Dark
  3. Strings Attached
  4. The Guess
  5. Sway
  6. Out Of My Hands
  7. Leaves


Embodying Villarreal's distinctly innovative and other-worldly guitar style, "Invisible Cinema" includes a wide spectrum of sonic variety. Hinged on the tumbling rhythms of Villarreal's unique guitar work, the music on "Invisible Cinema" ranges from lush indie-rock-slow-dance ("Enters") to meditative-percussive-drone ("Out Of My Hands") to what Victor does best: how-the-fuck-did-he-play-that-on-one-instrument-and-what-the-hell-is-the-time-signature acoustic guitar work.
Often credited as a pioneer of modern indie rock through his work with Cap'n Jazz, Owls, Ghosts & Vodka, and more recently, Joan of Arc, Victor Villarreal's solo venture brims with unpretentious, child-like optimism. Elements of classical and spanish guitar, as well as indie and metal are all present in this diverse batch of songs. Utilizing a plethora of instruments, and a few recording studios, "Invisible Cinema" is the first fully-realized Victor Villarreal solo material.