Half Japanese

Bingo Ringo EP

Catalog #: JNR182    Release Date: 07/31/2015

$ 5.00  

  • Bingo Ringo EP - Half Japanese - Joyful Noise Recordings - 1
  • Bingo Ringo EP - Half Japanese - Joyful Noise Recordings - 2
  • Bingo Ringo EP - Half Japanese - Joyful Noise Recordings - 3


Track Listing
  1. Stuck On You
  2. CooCoo
  3. Bingo Ringo
  4. On The Town
  5. Dracula's Casket
  6. New Awakening

    Half Japanese is one of the most influential bands in rock history. Founded by brothers Jad & David Fair in 1975, the band is credited with pioneering the DIY and lo-fi movements and influencing everyone from Sonic Youth and Neutral Milk Hotel to Daniel Johnston and Kurt Cobain (who asked the band to open some of the dates on Nirvana’s In Utero tour.) Known for dismissing conventional music basics like melody, song structure and chords (and for Jad’s famous line “the only chord I know is the one that connects the guitar to the amp”), Half Japanese operated under the premise that rock music should be accessible to anyone who wanted to play.  

    Having released over two dozen EPs, LPs, and live albums between 1977 and 2001, the band returned in 2014 with their first release in thirteen years: the uncharacteristically accessible Overjoyed, released on Joyful Noise Recordings. Now, they’re gearing up to release a new EP, "Bingo Ringo". Continuing their tradition of writing songs about monsters & the supernatural (“Dracula’s Casket”) and young love (“Stuck on You”) Bingo Ringo features stream of consciousness-style lyrics paired with sometimes chaotic and noisy, sometimes playfully-wandering guitars. Its six tracks showcase the band’s raw, unconventional and unpolished sound with the same simplicity and candor that launched their long and undeniably influential career.

    Bingo Ringo is limited to just 173 copies on specialty lathe-cut records, each copy is hand-made and features a custom design utilizing three separate spindle holes. This "6-Sided Record" design was created by our comrade Mike Dixon

    All orders include instant digital download (MP3 & WAV), and are exclusively available to Joyful Noise VIP Members. 

    Browse More Goodness