Tall Tall Trees 'Freedays'

Tall Tall Trees is the project of banjo extraordinaire Mike Savino: a songwriter, innovator, and touring member with Kishi Bashi (who is known as the official "bro-ducer").

Composed and recorded over a period of eight months, 'Freedays' tells the story of a man in transition... It's hands-down the most innovative musings to come out of the Appalachians in decades.


WHY? 'Moh Lhean'

The new album from WHY?, their first since 2012, is out on March 3. This is not a drill.


Surfer Blood 'Snowdonia'

Surfer Blood's fourth album Snowdonia is their most ambitious effort yet. Overcoming adversity, the band has artistically grown and thrived. Along with plenty of Surfer Blood's signature hooks, the band concocted some epic and more complex songs with enormous attention to sonic detail.

Snowdonia is out Feb 3, and is now available for pre-order.

In addition to the album, we're also immediately releasing a 7" featuring "Matter of Time" (the first track on the album) and an exclusive B-Side. 7"s ship immediately (instant gratification - YAY!). Order the 7" here.



The legendary Joan of Arc have announced their new album, titled He's Got The Whole This Land Is Your Land In His Hands. Their first proper release since 2011 is an 11-track album, recorded in various locations throughout Chicago: an empty former recording studio (Soma), a basketball court of a downtown hotel, an art gallery, an industrial space on the west side of Chicago, and a friend’s AirBnB.

Trust us, this is one of the most compelling albums we've heard in a long time, and (in our humble opinion) a defining moment for Joan of Arc. ...This Land... is out January 20 on Joyful Noise, and is now available for pre-order.


KISHI BASHI "Sonderlust"

Kishi Bashi's new album 'Sonderlust' is out now!!! 'Sonderlust' is an album forged through heartbreak and artistic vulnerability. It's at once beautiful, spectacular, joyful, and occasionally gutwrenching.

Stereogum calls it "...swelling, lush, spacious; full of pain, introspection, and humanity. It’s Kishi Bashi’s best album by a mile."

Check it out for yourself on Spotify, and purchase on a variety of formats below (including limited edition split-color vinyl).


JNR's "White Label Series" has a simple purpose: to save great music from obscurity.
In our content-saturated world, it is very easy for meaningful music to be overlooked... And therefore never to be properly released, and doomed to the remote regions of the internet. To combat that trend, we have asked twelve influential artists to curate our 2017 White Label Series and help shine a spotlight on their favorite undiscovered or under-appreciated bands.