Joyful Noise Recordings


Nothing In Rambling

  • (red vinyl)
  • (black vinyl)
  • (red tape)


Release Info

Catalog #: JNR97
Release Date: 09/11/2012

Track List

  1. Pumpkin Rose
  2. RyBro  [MP3]
  3. Old Dirty Rockers
  4. A Mirror
  5. Stay Wild
  6. Wait
  7. The Thing
  8. Nettles
  9. Nothing In Rambling
  10. The Organ That Fought
  11. What You Wanted


The stripped down experimental psych of Helvetia plays out like a series of sun-faded snapshots: subtle, stark, hazy and gritty as hell.
Since their 2006 debut, Helvetia (pronounced "hel-vee-shuh") have created a myriad of recordings, each dripping with various levels of experimentalism. Now on their 7th album, the band has signed with Joyful Noise, and has produced their most focused and inspired tracks in their 6-year history.
Originating in Seattle WA, and currently residing in Portland OR, Helvetia began in the aftermath of the droning, atmospheric group Duster (Up Records). Principle songwriter Jason Albertini and bandmate Canaan Dove Amber formed the group with a revolving cast of contributors, which at times has included members of Built To Spill and Dinosaur Jr. Albertini's laissez faire approach to personnel has resulted in a diverse catalog of material, ranging from 4-track lo-fi indie to surreal, unhinged soundscapes.
With their new album, "Nothing in Rambling" Helvetia's sound has culminated into a cohesive balance of familiar and experimental. Self-produced by Albertini, and recorded on a Teac 1/2 inch reel to reel 8-track, "Nothing in Rambling" will be released on September 11, 2012 on LP, CD, and Cassette, followed by a US tour with Built To Spill.