Joyful Noise Recordings

Various Artists

Joyful Noise 2012 Flexi Disc Series

  • (new exclusive songs from 12 of our favorite bands, pressed on clear flexi discs, limited to 500 copies each)



Release Info

Catalog #: JNR100
Release Date: 12/30/2011


The 2012 Flexi Disc Series is a monthly subscription featuring new unreleased recordings from 12 of our favorite artists including Deerhoof, Tortoise, of Montreal, Akron/Family, Lou Barlow, Jad Fair, Richard Swift and others. Each release is limited to just 500 copies on clear flexi discs.

WTF is a Flexi Disc?
In case you are unfamiliar, a Flexi Disc (link: is basically a thin, single-sided vinyl record which is flexible (hence the name), and rather obscure. However it is playable on any standard turntable. Back in the day flexis were often packaged inside magazines and even in cereal boxes. In the late 60s, The Beatles even used to send special Christmas flexi discs to their fan club.

The Joyful Noise 2012 Flexi Disc Series features different artists each month for the duration of the year. All of the releases are strictly limited to 500 copies on single-sided clear flexi discs. Digital will NOT be made available. That's right, these songs will only be available on these 500 physical units. All of the songs featured in the series are 100% new and unreleased and will never be released in any other format. So kiddies, there isn't even a chance you already have this in your iTunes... Literally the only way you will hear these songs is to sign up for the Flexi subscription.

Artists Featured In This Series:

Dead Rider
Jad Fair
Lou Barlow
Make Believe
of Montreal
Richard Swift