Joyful Noise Recordings

Son Lux

Black Waters

  • (7" square, clear flexi-disc, limited to 1000 copies, sold as part of the 2013 Joyful Noise Flexi-Disc Series)



Release Info

Catalog #: JNR125.5
Release Date: 05/05/2013

Track List

  1. Black Waters


The May installment of the Joyful Noise 2013 Flexi Disc Series features an exclusive track from the incredible Son Lux.

Son Lux's debut recording, At War With Walls and Mazes (Anticon), earned him the title of "Best New Artist" by NPR's All Songs Considered. For his contribution to the flexi disc series, Son Lux (aka Ryan Lott) offers the cryptic “Black Waters”. A cover song, originally written by 90-year old dulcimerist Jean Ritchie, “Black Waters” is a dark, meditative interpretation of traditional Appalachian folk. 

"Black Waters" is limited to just 1000 copies, and was only available as part of our 2013 Flexi-Disc Series. Though it's sold out, you can sign up for our waiting list here!