Joyful Noise Recordings

The Jesus Lizard

The Jesus Lizard Book

  • (175 page hardcover book w/ limited edition 7" record, pressed on Gold Vinyl, hand-numbered out of 475 copies & signed by the band. Also includes David Yow DVD of "Opening Suite" & CD of "Tonight You Look Like A Spider")



Release Info

Catalog #: JNR133
Release Date: 12/16/2013


This LIMITED edition package includes the following items:

  • One hardcover copy of THE JESUS LIZARD BOOK.
  • Limited edition 7" record, pressed on gold vinyl, hand-numbered out of 475 copiessigned by all four original members of the Jesus Lizard. Features two previously unreleased Jesus Lizard demos ("Elegy" and "Fly on the Wall" from the 1994 John Loder sessions). The 7" is *exclusive* to the book preorder and will not be made available for sale anywhere else. (Note that the 7" and sleeve will be bound inside of the book.)
  • David Yow DVD/CD combo package featuring "Five Directors' Interpretations of Opening Suite" video, "Making Monoliths" video, & full album of "Tonight You Look Like A Spider".

Published by Akashic Books, the Jesus Lizard Book is a coffee table affair of exclusive photography, art, and other imagery with written pieces by all four members of the seminal indie rock band the Jesus Lizard. Included are many Polaroids by David Wm. Sims, a delicious recipe by David Yow, a concise list of every show the Jesus Lizard played, and writings by two producers who recorded the band -- Steve Albini and Andy Gill. There is biographical material of each member that covers childhood to the demise of the group. Other contributors include, Mike Watt, Alexander Hacke, Steve Gullick, Rebecca Gates, Jeff Lane, Sasha Frere-Jones, KRK, Bernie Bahrmasel, and many more. 

Earlier this year David Yow released his debut solo album Tonight You Look Like A Spider on limited edition vinyl. Now in conjunction with The Jesus Lizard Book, the album will see a release on CD/DVD. Included on the DVD is the epic 13-minute video "Five Directors' Interpretations of Opening Suite". This short film is set to the 5-part, 13-minute opening track from Yow's solo album entitled "Opening Suite". 5 different directors each contribute a different "movement" of the song. These directors are: Jennifer (Jen) Lynch, Tim Rutili, Jared Varava, Adam Harding, and Todd Adam Phillips. The DVD also includes the mini-documentary "Making Monoliths", directed by Adam Harding.