Joyful Noise Recordings

Yonatan Gat

Iberian Passage

  • (picture-disc, limited to 400 hand-numbered copies, includes instant digital download)
  • (black vinyl, includes instant digital download)
  • (instant digital download in both MP3 & WAV)


Release Info

Catalog #: JNR148
Release Date: 05/27/2014

Track List

  1. Escorpião - Listen at SPIN.
  2. Broken Caravan
  3. Kotonou - Listen at Brooklyn Vegan.
  4. Conga Manteca
  5. Seven to Seven
  6. Bordeo - Listen at NOISEY.



It should come as no surprise that after years of touring with his band Monotonix, once hailed by SPIN as "the most exciting live band in rock'n'roll", that Yonatan Gat would carry that same intensity in his own act.  After five successful years, including two LP’s on Drag City and a world tour spanning 40 countries with his co-founded band, The New York-by-way-of-Tel-Aviv guitarist and composer took some time to himself in Portugal, finding inspiration for a solo project.
Inspired by the early work of Brazilian psychedelic experimentalists Os Mutantes. Gat's truly amazing talents shine on Iberian Passage as it blends together his punk rock influences with the improvisational spirit of Miles Davis.  It can be heard in the lengthy shredded guitar riffs melted in between pulsing African inspired drums.  A masterful guitarist, Gat recently won Village Voice's "Best Guitarist of 2013" with a sound he describes as "homeless between the Middle East and New York."
"Iberian Passage" will be released 6/3/14 on vinyl & digital. The first 400 copies are hand-numbered, and pressed on picture disc vinyl featuring art by Baker Overstreet.