Sleeping Bag

Deep Sleep

Catalog #: JNR141    Release Date: 08/19/2014

$ 20.00 USD  

  • Deep Sleep - Sleeping Bag - Joyful Noise Recordings - 1
  • Deep Sleep - Sleeping Bag - Joyful Noise Recordings - 2
  • Deep Sleep - Sleeping Bag - Joyful Noise Recordings - 3

*Physical vinyl colors are each unique due to the nature of the format.
Expect a variation of our mock-up.


Track Listing
  1. Riff Randall
  2. Wrestle
  3. MT Cup
  4. Hush
  5. Whatcha Gonna Du
  6. Predominantly Blue
  7. Hole In One
  8. These Are the Wolves
  9. Chillin'
  10. The Portal



    Sleeping Bag sounds different, you guys. On their third LP, "Deep Sleep", Dave Segedy (the group's drummer, songwriter and primary vocalist) has taken the band into heavier, more epic territory. The sunny jangling guitars and fun whistle choruses are gone; obliterated in a full on fuzz-guitar assault.  Dave sings, "I want to free the dog that I am." and he means it.

    Segedy's signature pop songwriting style is still in full effect, now brought to life by guitarist Tyler Smith and bassist Glenn Meyers. Tracks like "Hush" and "Wrestle" exemplify Sleeping Bag's honest, bedroom-pop approach and Malkmus-deadpan vocal delivery, but compared to the sunny disposition of the previous records "Deep Sleep" sounds downright tuff. Drenched in distortion & reverb, the album culminates with the nine-minute closer, "The Portal" - an epic shred-fest, equal parts My Bloody Valentine & Weezer "Only In Dreams". It's quite an affair.

    Browse More Goodness