jess joy


Catalog #: JNR361    Release Date: 4/16/2021

$ 22.00 USD  


*Physical vinyl colors are each unique due to the nature of the format.
Expect a variation of our mock-up.


Tracklist / Listen

  1. bless your name
  2. her0
  3. thrashold
  4. apple of his i
  5. well, i'll be damned
  6. a love song
  7. silver dagger
  8. betwixt between
  9. this is the string
  10. permanent heaven
[Bonus Flexi] you are a seed
Against our world crashes a bolt of joy!

jess joy (formerly of Moon Honey) is a multimedia artist based in the dreamy undercurrent of Los Angeles, hailing from the swamps of south Louisiana. In art school, guitarist Andrew Martin (Palaye Royale) commissioned her to paint a guitar amp, and a partnership flourished. Moon Honey toured the country, were lauded by the New York Times - “whirlwind virtuosity” - and NPR - “one of those voices cults form around”, played on KEXP, worked with producers John Goodmanson (Blonde Redhead, Sleater-Kinney) and Greg Saunier (Deerhoof) and went out with a bang.

In 2019, joy transitioned to solo artistry, preparing the cocoon for PATREEARCHY, produced by Greg Saunier. Known for her soaring warble and dazzling costumes, the trappings of joy’s art coalesce here into a gossamer creature of mystery, of twinkling strings, of dreams wrought in solar flares.  “Bless your name” lurches and spins like a thought singing in the mirror. “her0” is lush as a Busby Berkely fever dream. “Thrashhold” in contrast, has joy baring her fangs in a scintillating jangle of undulating guitars. Joan Baez’s “silver dagger,” buffeted with longtime collaborator David Hinson on violin, is witch’s vow of freedom. 

This sense of freedom is the radiant seed from PATREEARCHY blossoms. joy’s shows are immersive performance art experiences, given her practice in banshee-esque operatic vocals, mime, and creative set and costume design applauded by Bandsintown as “One-of-a-kind, show-stopping ensembles and incredible, handmade pieces.” Once the world is ready, so will be joy!
Browse More Goodness