Surfer Blood


Catalog #: JNR220    Release Date: 02/03/2017

$ 22.00 USD  

  • Snowdonia - Surfer Blood - Joyful Noise Recordings - 1
  • Snowdonia - Surfer Blood - Joyful Noise Recordings - 3
  • Snowdonia - Surfer Blood - Joyful Noise Recordings - 2
  • Snowdonia - Surfer Blood - Joyful Noise Recordings - 4


LISTEN / Track Listing 
  1. Matter of Time (3:04)
  2. Frozen (4:00)
  3. Dino Jay (3:51)
  4. Six Flags in F or G (5:23)
  5. Snowdonia (7:46)
  6. Instant Doppelgängers (4:40)
  7. Taking Care of Eddy (3:29)
  8. Carrier Pigeon (5:52)

Bonus 7-inch:

  1. Matter of Time (3:04)
  2. Beloved Apparition [exclusive outtake] (5:10)
    WATCH / Description

    are one of the best young indie-rock bands around, and their fourth album, Snowdonia, is their most ambitious effort yet. Overcoming adversity, the band has artistically grown and thrived. Following the departure of bassist Kevin Williams and guitarist Thomas Fekete (tragically lost to cancer in May), singer/guitarist John Paul Pitts and drummer Tyler Schwarz have rebuilt a talented line-up with guitarist Michael McCleary and bassist Lindsey Mills, all four alumni of the same high school in West Palm Beach, Florida. 

    For Snowdonia, Pitts wrote specifically with the new band's talents in mind:  "When I was writing I was thinking more about background vocals and harmonies. Lindsey and Michael are great singers, and I really wanted that to show in the songs. There are layers of vocals on almost every track, and the call-and-response parts between Lindsey and I are something totally new."

    Along with plenty of Surfer Blood's signature hooks, the band concocted some epic and more complex songs with enormous attention to sonic detail. Pitts wrote and mixed the album alone, for the first time since their debut Astro Coast. The immediacy is intoxicating and the musical and lyrical results are fantastic. Surfer Blood get better and better with each album, and we're sure they'll be making great records for years to come. 

    Browse More Goodness