Typical Sisters

Love Beam

Catalog #: JNR380-5    Release Date: 7/9/21

$ 8.00 USD  

  • Love Beam
  • Love Beam



1. Water Plants
2. Well Done
3. OEO
4. Owl
5. Recurring Memory
6. King Flipper
7. Clairvoyant
8. No Evil
9. Oregano
10. Uni Lunch
11. Clamata
12. Grains
13. Ephemeral


Following the release of their second record, Typical Sisters return with their ambitious album, Love Beam. Their third release presents a kaleidoscope of glitchy acoustic timbres, warbly guitar melodies, and crunchy drum loops merging the worlds of improvised jazz and lo-fi bedroom production.

Guitarist Gregory Uhlmann, bassist Clark Sommers, and drummer Matt Carroll spent over a decade nurturing their initial affinity towards one another. 

Love Beam is the result of a group of lifelong friends taking a leap of faith into unfamiliar territory, and coming out on the other side not only unscathed, but feeling even more fulfilled. 

Conceptually and emotionally, Love Beam is a celebration of the nourishment they receive from each other in both collaboration and friendship. The title evokes an atmospheric, metaphorical space they inhabit whenever they’re able to play music together, which is rare enough considering the distance between them: Uhlmann in Los Angeles, Sommers living in Chicago, and Carroll in Copenhagen.

Typical Sister's Love Beam is the fifth installment of the inaugural Joyful Noise Recordings 2021 Gray Area Cassette Series that features 10 artists from JNR's extended family. 
Browse More Goodness