Presents Sudden Hex

Catalog #: JNR380-8    Release Date: 10/04/21

$ 6.00 USD  

  • Presents Sudden Hex
  • Presents Sudden Hex



1. Not the One
2. Clatter Inn
3. Death Trip
4. Set to Destroy
5. Hashishian
6. Watching You Go
7. It's Weight
8. Stop Your Sinning J
9. I Crawl the Line
10. Feeling the Patchwork
11. Men Ruin Things
12. The Evil in You Makes it Hard
13. Tripping My Lung
14. Rose City Park
15. Face Like a Hat


Helvetia is the solo project of Jason Albertini from Duster. Helvetia resides in Portland, Oregon but was formed in Seattle, Washington in 2005 after Duster first went on hiatus.

Since the band’s inception, Jason has continued to employ a rotating cast of band members and collaborators, which now includes Steve Gere and Samantha Stidham. Steve and Jason also played in Built To Spill together from 2012 until 2018. In 2019 Duster started playing shows and recording again. During this time Jason started writing what would become This Devastating Map--released in August 2020, Post-Trash called it “a constantly shifting project that takes experimental lo-fi into brilliantly colored psych directions with a concise glow.”

Then the pandemic took hold. With normal life at a standstill and unable to hang with his bandmates, Jason focused his energy on his daughter’s homeschooling schedule, and recording. He focused on finishing one song a day and was soon honing in on a new music.

Helvetia Presents Sudden Hex is the eighth installment of the inaugural Joyful Noise Recordings 2021 Gray Area Cassette Series that features 10 artists from JNR's extended family. 
Browse More Goodness