Son Lux


Catalog #: JNR126    Release Date: 10/29/2013

$ 22.00 USD  

  • Lanterns - Son Lux - Joyful Noise Recordings - 1
  • Lanterns
  • Lanterns - Son Lux - Joyful Noise Recordings - 3
HURRY! Only 5 Remaining

*Physical vinyl colors are each unique due to the nature of the format.
Expect a variation of our mock-up.


Listen / Watch



    Equal parts producer and composer, Son Lux (aka Ryan Lott) bridges an unusual gap between old-world music discipline and next-level experimentation. Meditative but heaving with energy, Lanterns finds a peculiar congruency between futuristic soul and ancient sentiment. Driving orchestral pop (Lost It To Trying, No Crimes) is placed alongside haunting minimalism (Pyre, Enough Of Our Machines), often starkly juxtaposing densely layered arrangements with Lott's intimate voice. 
    In recent past Son Lux has gained notoriety both for his s/s/s project (with Sufjan Stevens and Serengeti), and for being named NPR's "Best New Artist of the Year". His third full-length album, and his first for Joyful Noise, positions Son Lux at the helm of an impressive ensemble of instrumentalists and singers, including Chris Thile (The Punch Brothers), Peter Silberman (The Antlers), DM Stith, Lily & Madeleine, Darren King (Mutemath), Ieva Berberian (Gem Club) and yMusic (Dirty Projectors, Bon Iver).
    To date, the album has been released on the following formats:
    • VIP Vinyl EditionLimited to 500 copies on clear / black "color in color" vinyl. Each copy is hand-numbered, and personally thumb-printed in silver paint by Son Lux himself.
    • Split-Color Vinyl EditionLimited to 1200 copies on clear / black "split color" vinyl.
    • Milky Clear Vinyl
    • Black Vinyl
    • CD
    • Digital

    Songs from 'Lanterns' have been prominently sampled in the music of Fall Out Boy, Halsey, and G-Eazy. But don't blame us for that

    Browse More Goodness