Tropical Fuck Storm

A Laughing Death In Meatspace

Catalog #: JNR277    Release Date: 10-26-2018

$ 22.00 USD  

  • A Laughing Death In Meatspace
  • A Laughing Death In Meatspace LP
  • A Laughing Death In Meatspace
  • A Laughing Death In Meatspace VIP

*Physical vinyl colors are each unique due to the nature of the format.
Expect a variation of our mock-up.


Tracklist / Listen
  1. You Let My Tyres Down
  2. Antimatter Animals
  3. Chameleon Paint
  4. The Future Of History
  5. Two Afternoons
  6. Soft Power
  7. Shellfish Toxin
  8. A Laughing Death In Meatspace
  9. Rubber Bullies

The phantasmagorical debut album by Tropical Fuck Storm, A Laughing Death in Meatspace, delivers a fraught vision of algorithmic apocalypse.

Featuring Gareth Liddiard and Fiona Kitchin from Australian heroes The Drones, Tropical Fuck Storm is an end-of-days consciousness-stream across nine seething tracks. The debut dive-bombs into the realms of mortality and immortality, moralizing and amorality; the passing of time, and how little we have left. These are lurid songs, urgently told through Gareth Liddiard's barbed and byzantine lyricism, abrasive guitar slashes, drum adrenalin, raunchy bass and electronic undercurrents. They're raging, rapscallion, and funny, lyrically delving into everything from internet shaming to the kuru “laughing death” disease of the PNG highlands to Russian chess great Gary Kasparov’s portentous loss to an IBM computer.

Live, Tropical Fuck Storm are a force of nature, conjuring chaos at every blistering performance, with zero shits to give for corporate music hegemony. "Kneel down by the advertising, don’t you make a single false move" calls out the female chorus of Fiona Kitschin and Erica Dunn echoing the dismay of our time as we bear witness to the sinister seductions which social media surveillance has entangled us.

A Laughing Death in Meatspace doesn’t show us the way out of this situation, but it howls along with us as we peer into the maelstrom ahead.


Browse More Goodness