Yonatan Gat


Catalog #: JNR161    Release Date: 03/31/2015

$ 20.00 USD  

  • Director - Yonatan Gat - Joyful Noise Recordings - 1
  • Director - Yonatan Gat - Joyful Noise Recordings - 2
  • Director - Yonatan Gat - Joyful Noise Recordings - 3
  • Director - Yonatan Gat - Joyful Noise Recordings - 4
HURRY! Only 10 Remaining


Track Listing
  1. East To West
  2. Casino Café
  3. Canal
  4. Gold Rush
  5. Theme From A Dark Party
  6. North to South
  7. Boxwood
  8. Gibraltar
  9. Underwater Prelude
  10. L’Atlantis
  11. Tanto Que Nem Tem




    Master guitarist, Yonatan Gat (Monotonix) is back with 11 new punk inspired, improvisational, psychedelic mind melters.  Recorded live by Chris Woodhouse (Ty Segall, Thee Oh Sees) in less than 3 days during a US tour, the band went into the studio with just a few songs and ideas.  The goal was to capture the riotous and intricate improvisations of the band’s live show.  In this spirit, they ended up playing in the studio for hours upon hours, filling endless tapes with the band improvising live, while Woodhouse meticulously recorded every single note being played. 
    Inspired by soundtrack virtuosos like Ennio Morricone and Nino Rota, Director is edited as a cinematic circular journey around the world, East to West and North to South.  This journey is interconnected by field recordings that Gat has taken during his travels, giving it a feeling of space and time.
    The result is a genre-bending opus that finds the band seamlessly exploring different styles of music from Brazilian psych and Afrobeat to free jazz, surf and 20th century avant-garde, sometimes in the span of just one song.  Gat's wildly inventive, reverb-drenched guitar offensive takes simultaneous lead and rhythm duties, backed by Gal Lazer's hard-hitting African-inspired grooves, and Sergio Sayeg's (of Brazilian garage rockers Garotas Suecas) pumping bass.


    Browse More Goodness