Scientific Cricket

Catalog #: JNR16    Release Date: 7/24/2007

$ 20.00 USD  

*Physical vinyl colors are each unique due to the nature of the format.
Expect a variation of our mock-up.


Track Listing
  1. Candle, Spirit, Leave
  2. Take Me From Diamond Head
  3. Ponta
  4. Liggle Timmy Toothpick
  5. Good Country Folk  
  6. We're The Small Windows
  7. Biz Biz Business
  8. Brick People Chant
  9. Earlobe Kite
  10. Barbarashop Cricketet
  11. Rusty Wife  
  12. Light My Bedroom From Below



    Enter the private, brightly infantile, electrically sanctified world of Grampall Jookabox's idiot-savant folk-rock. The spectrum of influences and appropriations feeding into this album are impressively, almost schizophrenically varied. There are hints of early blues, notes of civil war ballads, and children's sidewalk-chalk rhymes, all filtered through spastically epic and innovative intuition, creating a final product not unlike the early work of Daniel Johnston, though far more refined. 

    With their debut, Scientific Cricket, Grampall Jookabox emerge with the explicit goal of creating their own "anthology" of American Folk music, focusing on the strange, dark, and morbid characteristics of turn-of-the-century sounds. Complex choral crescendos, jungle drums, box-car lo-fi, and bubble-gum clean sound all make their way into this music. A score of sophisticated, epiphanic Alvin and the Chipmunk's if you will; leading the listener through this tour of American Folk-history on acid.


    Browse More Goodness