With Greg from Deerhoof

Catalog #: JNR363    Release Date: 10/29/2020

$ 9.00 USD  

  • With Greg from Deerhoof
  • With Greg from Deerhoof

*Physical vinyl colors are each unique due to the nature of the format.
Expect a variation of our mock-up.


Track Listing / LISTEN

  1. Wasps 2:42
  2. Vie Mar 3:29
  3. What's that Ballast on Your Salad 3:15
  4. Let Me Ask You a Question 2:43
  5. Première 2:48
  6. Was it Even Fun? 3:40
  7. I Got Your Password (live) 17:16
  8. Yellow Jackets 1:45
    There's a New Dojo in Town (Digital Only Bonus Track) 3:40

    Serengeti (aka David Cohn) and Greg Saunier met when Serengeti opened for Deerhoof at Chicago's Bottom Lounge in May 2009. That September Deerhoof brought WHY? and Serengeti on an east coast tour. In the summer of 2018 Geti and Greg were surprised to see each other at the People residency in Berlin. One day they signed up for the noon-to-1pm slot in one of the recording studios. Having never played together or talked about what to record, they performed the 17-minute "I Got Your Password (live)" to an audience of recording engineer Jonas Verwijnen and a few other People musicians sitting in the control room. In April 2020 Greg asked Jonas for the audio from the session.
    When Greg sent Geti the 17-minute mixed track a few weeks later, they liked it and decided to make a full-length album. While Geti wrote lyrics, Greg produced some classical- and Broadway-inspired tracks. Each time Geti received a new track in his inbox, instead of listening to it first, he would immediately press record. All the lead vocals for the tracks on this album were done this way.
    Browse More Goodness