Jad And David Fair

Shake, Cackle and Squall

Catalog #: JNR203    Release Date: 08/05/16

$ 20.00 USD  

  • Shake, Cackle and Squall - Jad And David Fair - Joyful Noise Recordings - 1
  • Shake, Cackle and Squall - Jad And David Fair - Joyful Noise Recordings - 3
  • Shake, Cackle and Squall - Jad And David Fair - Joyful Noise Recordings - 2


Track Listing
  1. In-between Alive And Dead
  2. Just Like Muddy Waters
  3. Liars' Club
  4. Misery Vs. The Blues
  5. Popeye Is A Sailor
  6. Shake (This Damn Place Up)
  7. Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Slayer
  8. Hex Attached
  9. Knocked Out Cold
  10. Every Note I Pick Is Probably Wrong
  11. There's Nothing Like Everything You Ever Said Before
  12. Belly Of The Beast
  13. Brag About My Band
  14. Businessmen In Memphis
  15. Colossus Femella
  16. Ed Wood Would
  17. House Of Bricks
  18. If I Could Write Like Harper Lee

    In 1974 Jad and David Fair teamed up to form a band called Half Japanese. The route was simple, at first. If one pounded on drums the other could squeeze sounds from an electric guitar. There were no other band members to stay in tune with, so there was no particular reason for them to worry about tuning the guitar in a traditional manner or learning traditional chords. They were free from the start to express their music in their own way. They traded off the guitar and drumming rolls. Whichever one sang the words also played the guitar and the other one drummed. For a couple of years they wrote, recorded and performed this way, without the convention of more members. When they did decide to expand they went big. They first thought of recruiting an outside drummer, so that both could play guitars at the same time.

    In 2014 Jad and David stripped things back to the roots. They went back to recording as a duo. One sang and played guitar, the other one drummed. 40 years had passed, but they slipped right back into the original roles and churned out a number of breath-stealing songs. 40 years later; 40 years better. One pick, two sticks and heart-warming vocals... That’s all they needed; two brothers, still rockin’ the same damn deal!

    Browse More Goodness