El Ten Eleven

These Promises Are Being Videotaped

Catalog #: JNR314    Release Date: 11/18/2022

$ 22.00 USD  

  • These Promises Are Being Videotaped
  • These Promises Are Being Videotaped


Track Listing / Listen
  1. Jumping Frenchmen of Maine
  2. I Like Van Halen Because My Sister Says They Are Cool
  3. Fat Gym Riot
  4. Adam and Nathan Totally Kick Ass
  5. K10
  6. Paranoid Android
  7. Chino
  8. Numb Tooth

    El Ten Eleven - These Promises Are Being Videotaped (2008)

    While walking through Los Angeles, reflecting on his impending divorce, Dunn laid eyes on a Chinese restaurant that declared (or perhaps warned), “These Promises Are Being Videotaped.” It was the only phrase that seemed to capture the state of his life at the time.

    As Dunn transitioned back into singlehood, he became obsessed with Los Angeles’s underground dance scene, attending warehouse parties and diving into the subculture. To reflect this time, Dunn was committed to using the fretless bass to imitate the music inspiring him at the time. The album from that time reflects this lifestyle shift—electronic glitching (“Jumping Frenchmen of Maine”), explosive drum soloing (“Fat Gym Riot”), and blistering rhythms (“K10”). 

    “A lot of people hated this album at the time,” Dunn reflects with a laugh. “But now it’s become a favorite. It just needed some time.” 

    The time has passed and the fans have realized: Dance music sounds best when it’s billowing from a spartan setup of drums and bass.

    These Promises Are Being Videotaped is back in print on amber colored vinyl.

    Browse More Goodness